Computer Issue and Compatibility of Geforce GTX 570

Hi,

I currently have a Quadcore Q660 PC that I have been relatively satisfied with. My Graphic card is nVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT 1GB. And my memory is 4GB. I bought this computer 3 yrs ago.

I managed to play most of the games without any difficulty (Crysis had to be played in medium settings because high settings made the game drop it's frame rate) until now.

Recently I have been having some issues with my graphic card. I'm not sure exactly what is causing this. Whether it's the graphic card or my DirectX or my Windows update or my memory cards.

I recently started playing Mass Effect when I I have noticed framerate dropping from 20+ FPS to 2-3FPS for a few minutes before going back to normal. It stays that way for a few minutes and then drops again. This issue started to happen when I watch DVD too.

Then I tried to run Crysis (same installation that I left installed in the comp) and encountered severe frame rate drop right from the beginning.

Now I know something is wrong. I don't know which one is at fault here. I had installed DirectX 11 a while back and I have updated my Windows 7 64bit to SP1. No changes in my memory or graphic card.

If it is the graphic card that is at fault, can I put GTX 570 into my motherboard (Gigabyte GA-73PVM-S2H)? The motherboard spec says it has 1 x PCI Express x16 slot, 1 x PCI Express x1 slot. Is that the same as PCI-E 2.0 x 16 that GTX 570 requires? Or is it different?

I would really appreciate it if someone can give me some insight into my problem. It would be really helpful.

Thanks in advance.

I've identified what the problem is. Now all I need is some advice on how I can fix it. I'm not a hardware expert and I have not done any motherboard configurations or cooling installations. My skills are limited to knowing what is what and connecting hdd or memory or other expansion cards.