Cosmos vs Optimus IV!

Lightspeed

Hi all,

I'm a university student so I need a laptop but I'm also a bit of a gamer. I do play a lot of modern games but generally less graphically intensive ones such as League of Legends and Diablo. On the flip side, I'd like the option to be able to run Skyrim or Battlefield at a reasonable frame-rate (preferably 45+, medium or low-ish settings do not bother me) if I want to.

I've decided I don't really like the look of the Optimus IV aesthetically. It looks clunky and cheap in the pictures. I much prefer the neater, more lightweight Cosmos 15.6". Unfortunately the 660M graphics card is unavailable for this laptop, so I need to take the 740M which is apparently around 10% less powerful. It is also cheaper - meaning I can just stretch my budget to get a better CPU than if I was to go for the Optimus. Is this a decent trade-off? Does the better CPU make up for the weaker GPU?

Also, if anyone has either laptop PLEASE leave me feedback on how you feel about the build quality and appearance. I am definitely substance over style but both are important to me. Info about battery life would be great too. I'd like to be able to browse/do uni work for at least 3 hours on battery.

Cosmos Specs:

i7-3740M CPU @ 2.7GHz
8GB 1333MHz RAM
GT 740M

Total Price: £745

Optimus Specs:

i7-3630M CPU @ 2.4GHz
8GB 1333MHz RAM
GTX 660M

Total Price: £724

Thanks for reading!

rav007

Enthusiast
Hi all,

I'm a university student so I need a laptop but I'm also a bit of a gamer. I do play a lot of modern games but generally less graphically intensive ones such as League of Legends and Diablo. On the flip side, I'd like the option to be able to run Skyrim or Battlefield at a reasonable frame-rate (preferably 45+, medium or low-ish settings do not bother me) if I want to.