Need a new workhorse?

Ashimema

Hi All,

Need some advice on a starting point for specing a system.

I need a system for around £600 (exc VAT... it's a home office computer). I don't currently need a monitor with it (or Windows for that matter as I'll probably throw Ubuntu or Fedora on there).

It needs to cope with a large amount of multitasking, compiling code, and probably the odd VM for testing.

I'm mainly wondering where to splash the cash.. whether to got the AMD route with either an A8 or Phenom, and spend the difference on and SSD and higher speed RAM.. or to go the i7 route and risk breaking the bank?

Any advice.. or a spec recontamination would be great?

Corfate

Author Level
Bloody lurkers the lot of ya'!

I'm not good with speccing up a machine, but from lurking in other posts, i can say that you'd need a large amount of RAM, so you'd be best with 8GB, maybe 16GB for future proofing, and depending on how intense your usage is. I'd also probably go for an AMD machine, due to it being very good bang for your buck! A Quad Core would probably be best too, futureproofs it, aswell as giving you good multitasking capabilities :)

Just a few things for you to go on there, im sure somebody will add more :)

Petchi b

Here's something to have a look at. A good case, a strong quad core CPU and loads of RAM for your multitasking, also includes a decent enough GPU for your needs. If you wanted to add a small 60GB SSD you would be looking at around £100 over your budget. I hope I'm right as in you wanted a system for £600 excluding VAT..

COOLERMASTER HAF 912 PLUS MID TOWER GAMING CASE
Processor (CPU)
AMD PHENOM II X4 970 (3.50GHz/8MB CACHE/AM3) - BLACK EDITION
Motherboard
ASUS® M5A99X EVO:USB 3.0, SATA 6.0Gb/s, Quad CrossFireX™/SLI™
Memory (RAM)
16GB SAMSUNG DDR3 DUAL-DDR3 1333MHz (4 X 4GB)
Graphics Card
1GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 550 Ti - DVI,HDMI,VGA - 3D Vision Ready
Memory - 1st Hard Disk
1TB WD CAVIAR BLACK WD1002FAEX, SATA 6 Gb/s, 64MB CACHE (7200rpm)