The 15.6" Vortex III

Fourteenth

Hello guys,

I'm planning on buying The 15.6" Vortex III, but on a budget really of around £950, and therefore couldn't decide whether I should get intel core i3 (3120M) processor with a basic HDD being the 250GB Serial
or whether I should go for the cheapest CPU it has to offer (the intel premium dual core (2030M) ) and get a SSD being the kingston 120GB.

I'm not very techny with the different processors, so I'm unsure on the advantages a intel core i3 3120M has to offer me in comparison to a intel premium 2030M.

In terms of the SSD/HDD, I'm aware SSD's are much better than HDD's, But what i'm wanting to know is what would be better to spend my money on out of the above options?

Sorry if I sound a complete noob.

Thanks for your time.

vanthus

Member Resting in Peace
I would go for the better processor as opposed to an SSD.
An SSD will give quicker boot times and load programs faster but your really only talking seconds,a better processor would be much more advantageous performance wise in my opinion.

Last edited:

Fourteenth

Okay, thanks for your help and response, in terms of these two processors, is there a great difference in performance?

Sorry to be a pain asking.

keynes

Multiverse Poster
Okay, thanks for your help and response, in terms of these two processors, is there a great difference in performance?

Sorry to be a pain asking.

It depends on your intended use, neither is ideal for gaming. I would expect either of those to bottleneck am the gtx 680m. For other uses like web browsing or daily tasks either coy will be fine but you are probably better off choosing a cheaper chassis and not the vortex.

Fourteenth

Ah right, That would be no good then, If I pushed my budget up to the i5 processor, do you think that would be good enough for gaming?

Fourteenth

Which would be better?