VortexII 3D with the 580m?

slane

Bronze Level Poster
It says: GeForce™ GTX560M/GTX580M in the configurator but I can't choose it anywhere.

Is it possible to have the 580 in the V2 3D? Or the Amd 6990m?

Thanks in advance :)

Last edited:

slane

Bronze Level Poster
Read in another thread its going to be available either later this month or sometime next month

Cheers, I'm also wondering about just getting the vortex II 17 with the 6990m GPU and getting a 3d capable monitor and HDMI-ing my games onto it and playing 3d that way. Any idea if this would work, I am complete novice in this area and can't seem to find much info on the subject, which makes me think the answer is obviously yes??

Do you know if they will put the 6990m into the 3d version or is it the Nvidia only as that's what runs the 3d glasses? The 580m costs so much more than the 6990m but they are closely matched performance wise, with the 6990m coming up best in a few places. Choices, choices, choices.

Wozza63

Biblical Poster
monitor doesnt matter as far as im aware, you must have the right card

im sure there are probably work arounds for AMD cards but nothing official, why do you need a laptop if you are going to be putting it on a screen? and do you really want 3D?

slane

Bronze Level Poster
monitor doesnt matter as far as im aware, you must have the right card

im sure there are probably work arounds for AMD cards but nothing official, why do you need a laptop if you are going to be putting it on a screen? and do you really want 3D?

I have been considering getting the Vortex II 3d but I'm concerned that the 580m is going to push the price up beyond affordability for me, but I could be wrong. Plus the 6990m outperformes the 580m. The cost difference with the Vortex II 17 (non 3d) is crazy, you pay so much more just to have Nvidia sticker rather than AMD, but that could just be my uneducated cynicism.